Intolerance Substitutes

A food intolerance is an inconvenient difficulty to digest specific food items, common intolerances include dairy or gluten which cause unpleasant physical reactions from the body. Common symptoms of food intolerance’s include bloating and stomach pain both occurring within several hours of eating, others can include tiredness, diarrhoea, and rashes. Obviously, having a food intolerance can cause a huge amount of annoyance if you’re planning on making your own Edibles. On this part of CBDzine, we’re aiming to give you as much information, and food alternatives as possible, we do aim to keep adding more and more information as often as possible. This information should be able to give you options if you’re trying out any of our recipes.

Avocados . Bananas . Bell/Chilli Peppers . Carrots . Citrus Fruits . Corn . Dried Fruits . Eggs . Flour . Garlic . Gluten . Ice Cream . Lentil/Pea/Beans . Mango . Marshmallows . Milk/Dairy . Mushrooms . Nuts . Onions . Pasta . Peanuts . Red Meat . Seafood . Sesame Seeds . Soya . Soy Sauce . Sulfites . Tannins . Tomatoes . Wheat . Yeast .

Allergy vs Intolerance:

If you do have difficulty digesting something, for example milk or gluten, it’s probably not an allergy. It just means that your body handling that food, most likely to cause reactions like bloating, cramps, diarrhoea, and possibly vomiting. Be assured, it doesn’t involve your immune system, it’s not an allergy.  For example, a lactose intolerance happens when your body can’t break down lactose, the sugar in milk and dairy products.

Avocados

Avocado allergies are closely linked, in the same way bananas, and mangos are, to latex allergies. This is down to the fact that the proteins found in avocados are structurally similar to those found in natural rubber latex. So, if you’re intolerant, or allergic to avocado, beware of latex, and vice versa. It’s also possible that you may have some problems with potatoes, tomatoes, chestnuts, papaya, bananas, or kiwis.

Commonly recommended replacements for avocados are: cooked (and cooled) chayote squash. Chayote squash doesn’t have much flavour, so it mixes well with garlic, tomatoes, onion, and lime to make a delicious quasi-guacamole.

To replace the texture, try this: Puréed green peas for spreads or for a guacamole substitute. Cooked, and then puréed asparagus, or broccoli can make for good substitutes.

For that salty flavour in salads and sandwiches, have a go at marinated, sliced hearts of palm or artichoke hearts.

Bananas

No doubt they are a popular fruit. 

Great as a snack, and there’s hardly a smoothie without one. Well thought of as a babies first solid food. Sadly, some people need to avoid them completely. 

A banana allergy is often connected to, in the same way as avocados and mango, a latex allergy. This is because some of the proteins in the rubber trees that produce latex are known to cause allergies, and they are similar to the proteins found in some nuts and fruits, including bananas. 

Some substitutes:

  • If you cook your bananas, this can sometimes deactivate the allergy-causing protein, which may make cooked bananas safe to eat. However, this is dependent upon the severity of your own personal level of intolerance or allergy. 
  • Some other alternatives may include some of the following, however, this is dependent upon these foods not being on your list as well: – berries, oranges, pumpkin and squashes (either baked or used in desserts and smoothies), cooked sweet potatoes and yams.

Bell Peppers/Chilli Peppers

Also known as Nightshades, or Solanaceae, these are a family that includes thousands of species of flowering plants. A number of nightshades are often included in recipes around the world. These include: bell peppers, eggplants, potatoes, tomatoes, chilli peppers, cayenne pepper, and paprika, even Tobacco, garden huckleberries, (not the same plant family as huckleberries) are another example. Sweet potatoes and yams, which might look and taste similar to potatoes aren’t nightshades. So many commonly used ingredients, you definitely need to know how they might effect you if you’re allergic, or intolerant. 

Some may have a minor intolerance to this family of plants, simply meaning you’ll have difficulty digesting them. If this is the case, you may experience gas, bloating, and/or diarrhoea. Extreme intolerance may cause fatigue and joint pain.

This kind of allergy is another one that’s extremely rare, but are caused by something called glycoalkaloids, a naturally occurring compound produced by this family of plants. It’s a natural pesticide that helps the plant fight against things like bacteria. 

If you are allergic to this family of plants, the symptoms could include: itchiness or rash, nasal congestion, wheezing or difficulty breathing, nausea or vomiting.

Do call your local emergency services if you experience: difficulty breathing, a swollen throat, the feeling of a lump in your throat, dizziness, lightheadedness, or loss of consciousness.

Some replacement foods for you:

  • Bell Peppers can be switched for celery, radishes, or Swiss chard.
  • Potatoes can be swapped out for sweet potatoes, yams, or cauliflower.
  • Eggplants, for portabella or shitake mushrooms.
  • If it’s Cayenne and Red Pepper that causes you problems, try cumin, white, and black pepper.
  • Goji Berries, easily replaced with blueberries.
  • Tomato Sauces, you might find other sauces fun, for example – pesto, olive, and alfredo.
  • If you need a Tomato Base, there’s the option of umeboshi paste or tamarind concentrate.

Carrots

Carrots are great for adding sweetness, colour, and nutrition to so many dishes. It’s loaded with beta carotene and a great source of fiber. On the other hand, if you have an allergy, or an intolerance, they are full of potentially harmful allergens. It’s a member of the Apiaceae family of vegetables, and are more likely to cause reactions when eaten raw rather than when cooked. The reason for this is down to the cooking process unravelling the allergenic proteins contained in carrots.

The symptoms of this allergy can range from mild to severe.

They are most often associated with oral reactions, mostly while the carrot is in the mouth, and they tend to go once this food is swallowed. These symptoms can include: itchy mouth, swelling of the lips, mouth, tongue, or throat, itchy ears, scratchy throat.

The above symptoms generally won’t require medical attention. 

There are more serious reactions, ones that might require medication, such as antihistamines, these include: swelling under the skin, hives, difficulty breathing, dizziness, tightness in the throat or chest, difficulty swallowing, sore throat or hoarseness, cough, runny nose, sneezing, nasal congestion, itchy eyes, and anaphylaxis.

Risk factors and cross-reactive foods

You may also have problems with the following vegetables and herbs, they’re also part of the Apiaceae family. These includes: parsnip, parsley, anise, chervil, celery, fennel, caraway, dill, cumin, and coriander. 

Carrots are a great source of beta carotene, something that the body turns into vitamin A, so substitutes are important. Pumpkins and sweet potatoes are both great sources of beta carotene, and can make for great substitutes in many recipes. Squash can also work well.

Citrus Fruit

Maybe try apple cider vinegar, it can give your cooking that same tangy flavour as citrus fruits. 

Citrus allergies may be rare but when they do occur  they can demand special care. Citrus fruits like orange, lemon and others that have citric acid in them, and the symptoms can trigger rashes, sourness in the throat, a swollen tongue, nasal congestion, and vomiting. Vinegar, tomato juice, and apple cider vinegar can make for good replacements for citrus fruits, and can add a similar tangy feel to your cooking.

Corn

Potato starch or honey can be good alternatives here. We’ve read about some studies that have shown that there are a number of reactions that can be triggered by corn syrup and corn starch. Using honey, potato starch, or tapioca starch in place of corn syrup or corn starch, can add a whole new element to your cooking.

Dried Fruit

The offender when it comes to Dried Fruit allergies/intolerances tend to be sulfites, things like sulfur dioxide. They are commonly used as a preservative in a wide range of foods. 

Within the EU, food manufacturers are required to label packaged foods that contain sulfites.

If you do have a problem with sulfites, you could have reactions from things like; wine, vinegars, dried fruits and vegetables, processed meats, canned and frozen fruits and vegetables, and a variety of condiments.

Our only advice here is – always check a product before consuming it.

Eggs

Eggs are often used as a binding agent in cooking, but they can be replaced with baking powder, mashed bananas, apple sauce puree, and chickpea water, best to trial and error what works best for you. 

People can have reactions to the proteins present in eggs, as well as whatever the chicken has been fed on. Intolerance to eggs has been known to cause respiratory disorders and skin reactions. If you are fond of bakery items, baking powder or Xanthan gum can replace eggs in muffins, cookies and cakes. Mashed bananas or applesauce puree are equally good binding agents.

Flour

Good substitutes here are coconut flour, almond flour or oat flour. They can be used in everything from breads to biscuits, chapattis to brownies, you may find gluten in some of these, so double check if that’s what you’re also avoiding. Wheat and gluten intolerance may cause symptoms like nausea, indigestion, skin rashes, and extreme tiredness. It’s possible to use coconut flour, almond flour, and oat flour as a suitable replacement, just beware of gluten content in these replacements if you need to. If you’re looking to replace the carbohydrates, maybe investigate corn starch, and of course, rice.

(Click here for Further Reading about Wheat)

Garlic

It really can be a wonderful flavour, known to have many health benefits, so you have our sympathies if you’re intolerant or even allergic to it.

Garlic allergies are rare, and may effect you in cooked, and/or raw forms. 

This allergy is kicked off by your bodies immune system, when it mistakenly thinks garlic is something harmful, and produces antibodies in an attempt to fight it off. This response may be immediately on contact, or could take up to a couple of hours from ingestion. This is in the case of those with full allergies. An intolerance is more common and may just cause indigestion, heartburn, or gas, this is just a reaction in your body, and not caused by your immune system. 

There’s other vegetables in the same family as garlic, (the allium family) these include: onions, leeks, chives, and shallots, being allergic or intolerant to one, may mean you have the same for the other. 

All we can suggest for a substitute is – Celery Stalk, Celery Root, Asafetida, Fennel, Cumin, Ginger.

Gluten

Gluten is a natural thing that appears through a pair of proteins found in wheat, barley, rye and triticale. Gluten intolerance is usually mild, but can trigger more serious complications, for example celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, wheat allergies, and can trigger intolerances to other foods.

(Click here for Further Reading on Wheat)

A large range of alternatives do exist, including rice crackers, and gluten-free beer.

Many alternatives do exist, so you can probably find variations for bread, desserts, biscuits or pancakes. 

If you’re looking to replace wheat and gluten products, try out rice pasta, polenta, quinoa, gluten-free oat bran and many more. There are options for traditional flour as well, things like; chestnut flour, lupine flour, guar gum, arrowroot flour, tapioca flour, banana flour, coconut flour, hemp flour, chickpea flour, soy flour, almond flour, quinoa flour and amaranth flour. Don’t get a wheat intolerance confused with a gluten intolerance, they can be very different things.

Ice Cream

A common problem for those with a dairy / lactose intolerance, but don’t give up hope, there’s still hope. There’s products that are naturally dairy-free, and ones that mimic the texture of ice cream. 

The naturally dairy free products include; frozen fruit sorbets, granitas, and frozen ices, though it’s still worth checking those ingredients labels to ensure that there’s not even a small amount of milk protein, sometimes companies add this for reasons of binding. Generally speaking, these type of desserts are very sweet, and it’s debatable whether they even contain fruit. 

Dairy-free ice creams are commonly available, best to hunt down the one that suits you the best. Their texture is fairly close to standard ice cream, although some include Soy, itself a common allergen.

Lentil / Pea / Bean

They are all “legumes”. These are a family of plants that also include peanuts, soya, lupin, green beans, green peas and fenugreek. Dried seeds, commonly referred to as pulses are also part of this family, they include chickpeas, lentils, kidney beans and other dried beans.

Many people who have an allergenic or intolerant response to one of the legume family will only be sensitive to one or two of the following foods:

  • Lentils
  • Chickpeas
  • Green peas
  • Black-eyed peas
  • Kidney beans
  • Haricot beans aka navy beans
  • Adzuki beans
  • Butter beans aka lima beans
  • Broad beans aka fava beans
  • Fenugreek
  • Cannellini beans
  • Flageolet beans
  • Pinto beans
  • Borlotti beans
  • Mange-tout
  • Tamarind

Sadly, it’s very much up to the individual to work out which ones are safe, and which aren’t. Vegetarian or vegan foods are ones to keep a careful eye on. Chickpea flour may also be used in gluten-free foods. So we can only advise, keep a close watch on those ingredients. 

Mango

Another unusual and fairly rare food allergy is mango. This one, in a similar, and strange way as the avocado, and banana allergy, this one is often linked with a latex allergy. There are a whole wide variety of other allergens in mangoes that can cross-react with people allergic to apples, pears, celery, fennel, pistachios, and cashews, to name a few.

People who have allergic reactions to mango skin are also likely to have severe reactions to poison ivy and poison oak. This is due to the presence of urushiol, a chemical found in all three plants.

Marshmallows

If you have this allergy, it’s probably the gelatin that’s causing you the problems here. Gelatin is a protein formed when connective tissue from animals is boiled. Some people are allergic to this protein. Gelatin can also be found in gummy candies, chewy candies, and frosted cereals.

It is a rare allergy, but it may also be linked to reactions to some vaccines, for example the flu shot.

Milk/Dairy

Generally this is known as ‘lactose intolerance’, although it might not be just the lactose that a person is intolerant to. Milk can cause allergies in infants that can stay until adulthood, and can come on in adulthood. Common symptoms include vomiting, nausea, indigestion, and hives. Skin-prick tests and a blood tests are best to diagnose this allergy, but not always reliable. Coconut milk is one great substitute for cow’s milk and can be especially used with breakfast cereals to make a wholesome meal, oat milk is another great replacement, and there also milks from hazelnut, and almond. Avocado products can also work. 

Mushrooms

It’s starting to be easier to get hold of golden needles, enoki, shiitake and oyster mushrooms. This isn’t going to be much help if you’re allergic or intolerant to such things, if it is simply mushrooms that cause you problems and not the whole range of moulds and fermented things, then tofu and tempeh could be just what you need.

Tofu can be sliced thin and marinated giving the effect of sliced mushrooms. The result might not taste of mushrooms, but the end result may well look like it does. It can also be chopped into firm chunks and added to stews and soups.

Tempeh is another option, but not if you have a problem with Soy as well. The flavour and texture is similar to mushrooms.

Nuts

Peanuts are usually the first thing people think of when a nut allergy is mentioned, but other nuts can be just as bad, those include; Brazil nuts, cashews, pistachios, and almonds, all of which can trigger symptoms ranging from mild reactions to serious anaphylaxis, rapid-onset reactions can even be fatal.

Most of the alternatives here are, in actual fact, seeds, for example sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin, squash seeds, chia seeds, and so many more. When it comes to cooking, the best plan would be products that are started to be nut-free, and maybe hunt down some recipes that make use of your choices. Some other baking replacements include tapioca starch, potato starch, arrowroot powder and plantain flour.

Onions

They can be a common addition to a number of cooked and prepared cold recipes. If you’re allergic to onions or have a food sensitivity to them, you may find that they’re hard to avoid.

Some people have reactions from eating, touching, or smelling raw onions. Others experience symptoms from both raw and cooked onions.

Onions are part of the plant genus allium, others in this genus are garlic, shallots, and chives. Those who are allergic or sensitive to one of these, have the reactions to all. Ornamental alliums (inedible plants) have been known to trigger reactions in some people.

Having a true onion allergy is rare. If you’re allergic to onions, your immune system will identify onions, and possibly other alliums, as dangerous substances. Having an onion sensitivity (or intolerance) is a more common occurrence.

Common symptoms to this kind of intolerance include:

  • hives or a rash
  • tingling or itching in the mouth
  • swelling of the lips, face, tongue, or throat
  • nasal congestion
  • difficulty breathing
  • nausea and vomiting
  • diarrhoea
  • stomach pain and cramps
  • gas
  • dizziness or lightheadedness
  • in rare and severe reactions, anaphylaxis. 

There’s some good substitutes for onions and the other alliums, in cooking you might enjoy these:

Asafetida. A root vegetable that comes from a large fennel plant, originally grown in Iran and Afghanistan. 

Fennel a licorice-scented bulb which turns savoury and somewhat lush when cooked. Radish, good for cold dishes as a raw onion replacement, try using it in similar quantities.

Celery. Not too similar in taste to onions, but the texture can be satisfactory.

Pasta

If you only need to avoid eggs, then you’ll probably still be ok with most dried pastas, the majority are made from semolina and water. Then there’s flat pastas, for example spaghetti and fettucine, also most likely to be egg-free. If in those posh restaurants that do the made from scratch pasta is probably going to include eggs.

If you also need to avoid wheat or gluten there’s options here as well, check out rice pastas, corn and corn/quinoa blend pastas, bean pastas, and pastas made from a number of different grains. All versions have varying textures and tastes, so well worth doing your own investigations.

Peanuts

Almonds and toasted oats seem to be good at replacing peanuts.

A reaction to peanuts is one of the most common food allergies around. In some incidents, peanuts or other foods with peanut content, for example peanut butter, or peanut oil, has been known to cause severe skin rashes, tingling in mouth and throat and, in extreme reactions, anaphylactic shock. Peanuts can be easily replaced with either almonds or toasted oats, this can add a similar crunch to any dish. These ingredients are high in nutrients and are known to be good for your heart. Good replacements for peanut butter include Sesame seed butter, and Tahini.

Red Meat

This is a fairly rare allergy, and allergies to things like beef, pork, and lamb can be difficult to identify. These intolerances and allergies are usually put down to a sugar found in meat called alpha-galactose (alpha-gal).

According to allergy experts, red meat allergy in the United States has been linked to a bite from a Lone Star tick.

If you’re allergic to one type of meat, you may be allergic to a few others so beware. “Natural flavourings” can also be generated from beef, or other mammal cells.

A small percentage of children who are allergic to milk might also be allergic to meat. Seek professional medical advice is this is the case.

According to Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE), the symptoms may not occur until three to six hours after eating.

Seafood

A good replacement for seafood can be flax seed oil. We’ve added this here just to be complete. Fish is high in omega 3 oils, and a great source of protein. If you are allergic to seafood, you will need a way to keep those nutrients balanced. Seafood allergies, like many other allergies, can cause headaches, nausea and rashes. 

So, flaxseeds are commonly known to contain similar amounts of omega 3 fatty acids in them and so, flax seed oil is also a great option for cooking at home. If you’re looking to replace the protein, lentils and poultry are good options.

Sesame Seeds

In a similar way to nut allergies, people who are allergic to sesame seeds can go through some severe reactions. To give you an idea of how rare these allergies are it’s estimated that only 0.1 percent of people in the United States are affected.

Highly refined oils typically have the seed protein removed, but those with seed allergies should be cautious. According to experts, there are numerous cases of people who have allergic reactions to sesame oil.

People who have allergic reactions to sesame also may react to poppy seeds, kiwi fruit, hazelnuts and rye grain, as the proteins in these foods are thought to be similar.

Some good substitutes include: Perilla oil, Walnut oil, Olive oil, Canola oil, Avocado oil, Tahini, Poppy seeds, Sunflower seeds and Flax seeds.

Soya

Soya aka Soy, is easy enough to replace with chickpeas or milk. If you do try the milk option, make sure you’re not intolerant to lactose, or dairy. A Soy allergy can trigger hives, a runny nose, and some breathing issues. Best advice we have, read the ingredients on all packaging before you buy anything, it’s shocking just how common Soy is used in pre processed foods. If you are looking for a similar flavour when cooking at home chickpeas and chickpea flour is a similar flavour and consistency.

Soy Sauce

If you do suffer with a Soy intolerance, or even allergy, it might be worth noting that there’s no decent substitute out there, especially in the world of condiments. Thankfully, in some cooked recipes, it might be worth trying fish oil.

Sulfites

What are sulfites? They are preservatives commonly added to some drinks, foods and medications. Sulfites release SO2, (sulfur dioxide gas) this is an active component that works as the preservative in food, drinks, and some medications.

They can cause allergic / intolerance reactions, symptoms can range across such things as; wheezing (mostly in people with asthma), hay fever, hives, and in rare cases they can cause anaphylaxis, which is the most severe type of allergic reaction.

How long has the world had sulfites? They have been around since Roman times, where they were used to preserve food flavour and colour, inhibit bacterial growth, reduce food spoilage, and help preserve medication.

Inhalation of SO2 may cause reflex contraction of the airways. This could also be a problem when swallowing liquids which contain SO2, stuff like beer or wine.

Where you might find SO2:

  • Drinks: Cordials, fruit juices, beer, wine, soft drinks, instant tea. Although, with wine, it’s usually found at higher levels in cask wine than bottled wine, and are at much higher concentrations in white wine than red wine, which is preserved by tannins.
  • Other liquids: Commercially prepared lemon and lime juice, vinegar, and grape juice.
  • Commercial foods: Dried potato, gravy, sauces, fruit toppings, maraschino cherries, pickled onions, maple syrup, jams, jellies, biscuits, bread, pies, and pizza dough.
  • Fruit: Dried apricots, dried fruits, sultanas, currants, some grapes will have been transported with sachets of sulfite to “keep them fresh”.
  • Salads: Restaurant and takeouts may add sulfites to preserve the colour of salads and fruit salads, giving the impression that they are “fresh”.
  • Crustaceans: It might be added to the top of these to prevent discolouring, again, trying to convince you it’s all “fresh”.
  • Meat: They sometimes get added illegally to mincemeat, and are very common in sausages.
  • Other stuff: Gelatin, and coconut.

Tannins

They are an acid that’s found in a number of foods and drinks. These include:

  • Tea: There are some reports that say black tea is the worst.
  • Coffee: The pulp has been found to contain low to trace amounts of tannins.
  • Wine: Especially ones aged in charred oak barrels, they tend to have tannins absorbed from the wood.
  • Strawberries: They contain both hydrolyzable and condensed tannins.
  • Berries: Mostly cranberries, and blueberries, contain both hydrolyzable and condensed tannins.
  • Herbs and spices: Such as Cloves, tarragon, cumin, thyme, vanilla, and cinnamon all contain tannins.
  • Chocolate: Chocolate liquor contains about 6% tannins.
  • Fruit juices: Citrus fruits don’t contain tannins, but orange-colored juices often do, that comes food colouring. Apple, grape and berry juices all have a high content though. Tannins are sometimes added to juices and ciders as a flavour enhancer. Needless to mention the original fruits as well, grapes (especially red grapes), and apples are especially high in tannins. 
  • Beer: Apart from the main acids that are extracted from hops to provide a tone of bitterness, condensed tannins are also present.

The above can, in some cases, cause allergic, or intolerance reactions. These reactions can range from mild to life-threatening, but all need to be taken seriously. 

Mild symptoms can include: mild headaches, a feeling of being jittery or anxious. The reason for this is because your body is reacting as if the tannin are a minor infection, and the body is pumping adrenaline, histamines and other defenses to fight off what it believes to be an invader. Other reactions can include: nausea, upset stomach, diarrhea and migraines. Some can even experience hay-fever-like symptoms. If this occurs, histamines are overreacting to the tannins and are treating it as a “toxin” that the body believes needs to be eliminated as soon as possible. 

Some replacements for tannin based foods are drinks:

  • Tea: Green tea has been credited as the lowest. White and oolong teas tend to sit somewhere in the middle of green and black tea. 
  • Herbal Teas: Some good options can include: ginger, ginkgo biloba, ginseng, hibiscus, jasmine, rosehip, peppermint, rooibos (red tea), chamomile, and echinacea. Peppermint, or ginger can help with digestion and bloating, chamomile helps to fight insomnia, rosehip and rooibos are high in vitamin C and antioxidants which are great for your skin, and boost your immune system.
  • Wine: A lot of wines tend to be high in tannins (red Bordeaux, Barolo and Barbaresco, vintage port when young, Syrah and Cabernet Sauvignon). Others, less so (red Burgundy, Dolcetto and Barbera, Pinot Noir, Sangiovese and Spanish Rioja). Beaujolais and Tempranillo are even lower in tannin.
  • Other stuff: Like berries, nuts, chocolate, herbs, and spices just take some common sense, and avoidance.
  • Nuts: This is also a case of common sense and avoidance of the harmful ones.
  • Coffee: In this case, just make sure you don’t overheat your coffee when it’s being made, it is believed that tannins only become harmful once they reach a certain temperature. 
  • Beer: There are tannin free beers, in all honesty, it would probably need a whole website dedicated to this subject just to cover the topic, best to simply check each one before you drink it.

Tomatoes

If tomatoes are a problem for you, but you still love Italian food, hopefully this section can help you out.

Whether you’re looking for the hearty flavour of romesco or the silky goodness of cream sauce, you’ll have an array of options for topping your favourite pizzas, pastas, or bolognese.

Despite the fact that tomatoes and tomato-based products are amongst some of the most heavily consumed foods in the world, tomato allergies are extremely rare. If you do have a tomato allergy or intolerance, you may be prone to having issues with other nightshades, for example; potatoes, tobacco, eggplant, and bell peppers

Symptoms of this generally occur fairly quickly after consuming them, and can include: skin rash, eczema (a rare reaction), hives (urticaria), abdominal cramps, nausea, vomiting or diarrhoea, an itching sensation in the throat, coughing, sneezing, wheezing, or runny nose, swelling of the face, mouth, tongue, or throat, anaphylaxis (in very rare cases)

A few replacements for tomatoes that might help you out:

Olives, some suggest bell peppers (but this won’t help if you suffer from issues with nightshades), French onions are rumoured to fill in well, tamarind paste, unripe mango, gherkins, pesto made with fresh basil leaves.

(Click here a few recipes that might be able to save your pizza, and maybe a few other dishes as well)

Yeast

In the late 1970s / early 1980s, it was presented by a pair of doctors from the USA, the idea that a common yeast type of fungus, “Candida albicans’, was the cause of a whole load of symptoms. They pinned a long list of symptoms on Candida, including: abdominal bloating, constipation and diarrhea, anxiety and depression, hives and psoriasis, impotence and infertility, menstrual problems, respiratory and ear problems, unexpected weight gain, and feeling “bad all over”.

Doctors C. Orian Truss and William G. Crook suggested that 1 out of 3 Americans suffered from a yeast allergy, and also coined “candida-related complex.”

It would seem that the main issue wasn’t yeast, it was that the science behind the allergy turned out to be mostly bogus. State and medical boards began fining the doctors involved in promoting and treating Candida allergy, and they put these doctors’ licenses on probation for this as well. This might mean that yeast allergies are still real, just not as common as these doctors proposed. 

Foods to be wary of if you believe you have a yeast allergy: most breads and some baked goods, such as muffins, biscuits, croissants, or cinnamon rolls, cereal products, alcohol, especially beer, wine, and ciders, pre-made stocks, stock cubes, gravies, vinegar and foods containing vinegar, such as pickles or salad dressing, aged meats and olives, mushrooms, fermented foods such as ripe cheeses and sauerkraut, dried fruits, such as blackberries, grapes, strawberries, and blueberries, buttermilk, synthetic cream, yogurt, soy sauce, miso, tamarind, tofu, citric acid, and anything that has been opened and stored for an extended period of time.

Symptoms of this allergy will probably vary from person to person, but they’ll most likely include at least one of these: abdominal swelling, breathing difficulties, dizziness, joint pain, and possible mood swings.

Some foods that should be ok if you have a yeast intolerance, or allergy: soda breads, (which are usually yeast-free) fruit smoothies, protein, (stuff like – unprocessed meat and fish) skimmed milk, green vegetables, beans, potatoes, squash, grains, (for example brown rice,